Admin Bio – Amy

Hi, I am Amy!

The short version of my bio is pretty simple, “Mom. Daughter. Sister. Techie-Nerd. LARP-er. Sewer. Crafter. Crocheter. Photographer. Gamer. Outdoor Enthusiast.”

I have a deep love for chocolate, diet coke, and tacos. I also have a head of hair that Todd refers to as “The Beast”, and has also been known to be called Medusa. On good days, I can tame the curls. On great days I have time to straighten it. All kidding aside, I actually really love my hair because it’s so versatile. I am lucky.

 

I grew up the daughter of a wildlife biologist in Eastern Oregon, and most of my time as a child was spent in the outdoors while my dad conducted his research. As a result, I developed a love of nature and a great appreciation of the stunning beauty surrounding us.  My family on one of our many hiking trips:  Dad – Burr, Me, Sister – Erika, Mom – Donna.

Todd and I have four kids Emma married to Jordan, Harley, Terrance, and Reagan. They are amazing!

Art and creative ventures have always been a part of my life, and as I have grown older, I have found new artistic ways to express myself. My parents believe that immersion in art and culture are a necessary part of a child’s life, and therefore, I was exposed to many different forms of art throughout my life. Art was taught to me as a way to express feelings, to connect with others, and to stimulate change.  My two favorite forms of art are photography and pottery.

 

One of the skills my mother instilled in both my sister and me is sewing. I can remember sitting on her lap “sewing” while she ran the foot pedal. If I were to guestimate, I would say I was about 4 or 5 years old, which means I have been sewing for 40 (OMG!!!) years!

 
 

I have only self-drafted two patterns, and while neither was a complete failure, I don’t really count them as successes, either. When I began sewing, I used commercial tissue patterns, but over the past couple years, I have discovered the Indie PDF pattern community, and there’s no turning back! I do still use commercial patterns to make the LARP costumes Todd and I use (see below).

My first sewing machine was my mom’s old Viking Husqvarna 6460, and it was a workhorse! It started having problems a little over a year and a half ago, so I asked for a new machine for Christmas, and I received the Brother C6000i. This year, I got my first serger, the Brother 1034d. It has changed the way I sew completely! I absolutely love having a serger! Currently, I don’t have any cutting machines, but I am saving for a Silhouette!

Todd and I are involved in a LARP group that holds two weekend-long events and a few casual get-togethers each year. Todd plays a wizard named Lazaro, and I am an elf named Elenetessa (Tessa). Read more about our LARP group, Sojourn.

    

I don’t have a dedicated sewing room (yet). Currently, my machines reside in our living room, and they are stored in a sewing cabinet my dad built for me. My fabric stash is (way too big – is there such a thing?). The stuff I reach for frequently is stored on shelves in our laundry room, and the rest (costume fabric, etc.) is in flat storage containers under our bed. We are building a new shed in our yard, and half of it is going to be my very own craft/sewing room!!! I am super excited! It isn’t going to be completely usable right away, and we will work on it as we have time.

I originally started my blog 11 years ago as a way to keep track of our family and share our life with relatives we didn’t get to see often. It is named Swimming in a Sea of Estrogen because we are a female-heavy household, and it is abundantly clear most days. 😀 My blog has since evolved into a place for me to share thoughts, projects, and family life. I mostly share sewing projects and adventures now.

I love nature. I love hiking, kayaking, and just being out side, especially in the summer. I find that if I am really stressed, even a drive up a mountain to sit and look at our gorgeous valley helps me relax. We are very lucky to live where we do. The Grande Ronde Valley (Eastern Oregon) is within an hours drive of four different mountain ranges – Eagle Caps, Elkhorns, Blues, and Wallowas, and it is absolutely gorgeous year-round.

My hope is that my blog and writing remain interesting and I don’t bore the socks off my readers. In addition, I hope people learn something new. I love the sewing community and the way we support one another.

Want to know more, check out my blog, Swimming in a Sea of Estrogen, or send me an email:  bettsamyj@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

