Add Lace Embellishment to a Knit Hemline

We have a new tutorial for you this week!  Cassy from Pear Berry Lane is here to share a quick method for attaching lace to the hemline of a shirt.  Cassy is a wife, mother, teacher, and sewing enthusiast.  Visit her blog, Pear Berry Lane, to learn more about her and her sewing journey.

How to Add a Lace Embellishment to the Hemline of a Knit Top

Hi there! It’s Cassy from Pear Berry Lane Blog. I’m here today sharing a quick tutorial on how to add a bit of lace the hemline of your shirt. I actually made a shirt like this and then went shopping and found an almost identical shirt for my daughter. I guess I must be fashionable. You can be fashionable too, so let’s get too it.

Supplies Needed:

  • Knit Shirt Pattern and materials it requires
  • Pins (Seriously, even if you aren’t a pinner.)
  • Lace to use for embellishment
  • Twin needle or you can use your coverstitch machine
  • Other Sewing Tools: machine, thread, scissors, etc

For this make I used the Sapphire Layering Top from Petite Stitchery. You can find it here. I used this pattern for a previous post on my own blog which is why I’m sharing here today.   You can use any shirt pattern you like, just do NOT hem the bottom of the shirt before you come back to check out the tutorial.

1.  Sew up your shirt pattern following directions, leaving the hem unfinished.

2.  Memory press your given hem allowance, then open back up. I like a wide hem on my knits, so I added a little length on my top when I was cutting it out.

3.  Let’s determine how much lace we need now. To do this I laid my shirt flat and measured the width. I wanted my lace to be 1.5 times my width. Here is a quick formula you can use where x=the single flat measurements as pictured.

Lace needed = 1.5(2x)

(It is 2x because the flat measurement only accounts for the front and we have a front and a back.)

If you have a middle schooler that says they will never use algebra in real life you can tell them that you did today!

4.  Turn shirt wrong side out and fold up hemline at the memory press. We are going to check and see if we need to trim the height of our lace. Line your lace up with your shirt hemline to see how far below the hemline you would like it to fall. If you look at the image I needed to trim about a half inch off the top of my lace to align it with the edge of the shirt hemline before I went on. Trim it now using your rotary cutter or scissors.

5.  Now sew together short ends of the lace being sure that you have the right sides together. Some laces are tricky, so be sure to remember to check for which is the right side. Stitch TWO rows of gathering stitches to gather (No cheating here ladies. It really does make a difference.)

6.  Pint the lace to the shirt right sides together. To do this, I turned the shirt right side out with memory pressed hem open and flat. Align the lace to the shirt just as you would a gathered skirt, right sides and raw edges together. Serger/Sew lace to shirt. (To be honest, sometimes I don’t sew the lace on here if I’m going to be using my cover stitch machine. I just pin as mentioned in the next step and take it to the machine.)

7.  Fold memory hem back into shirt. Be sure to make sure that lace is lying flat against the hem. Secure with pins. I really needed more pins here. You want to be sure that the lace doesn’t pull down the hem when you take it to your machine.

8.  Using your twin needle or coverstitch machine sew your hemline to finish the hem.   Be very careful here that the lace doesn’t pull down the hemline. You will get an ugly wrinkle and uneven hem.

9.  If you didn’t sew/serge in step 6 as I mentioned, turn shirt wrong side out and trim closely to the hem next to the stitching. Here is an example of trimming after a coverstitch hem. Not too shabby heh?

10.  Turn your shirt right side out, put it on a body and take a picture to show it off. If you use this tutorial I would love for you to share it on Instagram and tag me so I can see it! @cgobin

Leave a Reply

