Market Shopper Sew-A-Long – Post #1

The Quilt Market Shopper was designed by our very own Angie, and it was tested by members of our Facebook Group.  This pattern is also FREE for members of the group.

The Market Shopper can be made out of leather/vinyl or cloth, or a combination of both.  For this sew-a-long, I will be making an all-cloth version.  If you have any questions during this sew-a-long, feel free to ask in the comments, and I will answer as quickly as possible.  If your preference is to sew one with leather/vinyl, post a comment with your question, and I will have one of our other admins address it.

Let’s get started!

Tools & Supplies

The first (and most obvious) think you will ned is a copy of the pattern.  I printed my pattern out because I made notes for the sew-a-long in it.  This is a long pattern (lots of pages) because there are several options for beginner bag makers as well as experienced bag makers.  If you have an e-reader of some sort (to save ink and paper), you can print only the pattern piece pages, and use your e-reader for instructions.

Fabric choices can be as simple as one fabric for the exterior and lining, or as complex as a different fabric for each feature of the bag.  For this bag, I have chosen lightweight navy canvas for the exterior, the sea-life batik for the lining and exterior elements, and the lime and turquoise are the interior pockets.  You will also need foam, stabilizer, and interfacing.

I wish I would have taken a picture of the hardware  I used before assembling the bag, but I didn’t.  Instead, I have this collage that shows them installed, and I am listing below what they are and how many you need.  I purchased all of my hardware at Emmaline Bags, but they can be purchased just as easily at local stores or recycled off old bags.

  1.   (4) 1″ wide handle sliders
  2.   (2) 1″ wide strap “D” rings
    (2) 1″ wide swivel clips for adjustable strap
  3.   (1) 9″ polyester zipper for interior zippered pocket
  4.   (1) 1.5″ metal slider for adjustable strap
  5.   (1) 16″ (or longer) metal zipper

Miscellaneous tools you need are scissors or rotary cutter, cutting surface, clear ruler, pins or clips, and and iron.

Once you have all your supplies and fabric assembled, you can start cutting the pieces of your bag.  Since I am using so many different fabrics, I made a list of what pieces to cut from each piece of fabric, and then I cut the pieces out one fabric at a time, checking off pieces as I went.

Cutting

Once you have all your supplies and fabric assembled, you can start cutting the pieces of your bag.  Since I am using so many different fabrics, I made a list of what pieces to cut from each piece of fabric, and then I cut the pieces out one fabric at a time, checking off pieces as I went.  Angie also included these handy “piece” labels in the pattern, and I pinned them to each piece (or set of pieces) as I went.

I started with the exterior of my bag and worked my way in.  Up first – exterior Navy.

Lining, straps, handles, connectors, and zipper tab – Sea-Life Batik

Internal pockets – Lime and Turquoise

Slip pocket, zipper pocket, connectors, bag panel lining, and zipper tab – Pellon SF101

Adjustable strap, handles, bottom panel (2 – one each for lining and exterior)- Pellon Decor Bond

Exterior bag panels – Pellon Foam (I wanted a very stable bottom, so I cut a bottom piece, as well)

Adding Interfacing & Stabilizer

The final step I did to prep before actually assembling the bag was to iron the interfacing on each piece so the pieces were ready to use as soon as I was ready for them.

Ready to sew!

And there you have it, all the pieces are cut out, labeled, and we are ready to assemble the bag.  I will be back tomorrow to assemble the exterior bag panels, handle connectors, and adjustable strap connectors.

3 thoughts on “Market Shopper Sew-A-Long – Post #1

Leave a Reply

